V-Scanwiches: The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread (and scanners)


a scan of the coveted V-Sandwich

Last year, one of my favorite hypothetical local hangouts shuttered their doors. I say hypothetical because I never actually hung out there, but I always liked having the option of hanging out there, were I ever inclined. Hypotheses aside, The Tea Lounge on 7th and 10th closed, interestingly enough, they day after I perhaps might have kissed a woman for the first time on one of their sidewalk benches. Truly, it was a sad day. Not only was I being robbed of one of my favorite hypothetical hangouts, but also a monument to newfound love and true Annie Hall-esque romance.

I was not forlorn very long, however, because within weeks of the closing, my local paper reported that the space would soon be occupied by a Vietnamese sandwich spot. If you haven’t yet experienced a Vietnamese sandwich, stop reading this and go find yourself a Hanco’s and order two. Skip the bubble tea though; superior bubble tea can be had elsewhere.

So anyway, I was totally stoked. Vietnamese sandwiches are among the best sandwiches in the world. If the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movies were a scale of how good V-sandwiches compared to other sandwiches, V-sandwiches would definitely be TMNT II: The Secret Of The Ooze which is, in my humble opinion, the best in the series. After all, it practically launched Vanilla Ice’s rap career. And that’s my point entirely: V-sandwiches are so good they could launch a rap career.

I won’t tell you what they put inside them (b/c honestly, I’m not sure). You’ll just have to find out for yourself. I will however direct you to this awesome new blog, Scanwiches. Described simply as scans of sandwiches for education and delight, it truly is both educational and delightful. Plus, it just so happens they have scans of not only one but several V-sandwiches. Go forth and be delighted.

link:
http://scanwiches.com/

(thanks Kristy)

One Response to V-Scanwiches: The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread (and scanners)

  1. pierre ahlstrom says:

    launch a rap career……. Vanilla Ice, you inspire me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

