So, do you have any siblings?


photo by Elinor Carucci for New York Magazine

We all have a list of questions we ask people we’ve just met(people we wanna date). These questions are meant to 1. show that you are capable of holding a conversation beyond “so, how many siblings do you have?” 2. display your deep inner mysticism and 3. determine if your new friend is not completely screwy. One of my personal questions(and I’ll never be able to ask it again now) is “If you had to choose between going deaf or blind, which would you choose?” My answer is always changing. Some days, I’d rather go blind because I couldn’t imagine a world without music. Other days, I’d rather go deaf because there’s so much of the world I haven’t yet seen. Fortunately, I’ve never actually had to consider this question as a definite possibility but I know there are people out there, much stronger than myself, who do.

Going Blind and Deaf In A City of Lights, a New York Magazine article by Arianne Cohen, introduces us to Rebecca Alexander, a young New Yorker with a rare condition that’s causing her to slowly lose her sight and hearing. Cohen spent a few weeks hanging out with Rebecca and getting a sense of what her life is like, how she deals with losing her eyesight and hearing, and why she can’t stop driving 100 miles per hour(Yep, she still drives).

It’s good to read stories like this, stories that remind us of the power of the human spirit and what has kept us thriving as a species thus far, the ability to adapt even if only on a personal level.

If you’re not in the mood to read the article, check out this video about Esref Armagan, a remarkable painter who has been blind his entire life.

links:
Esref Armagan’s Site

3 Responses to So, do you have any siblings?

  1. Nina says:

    I used to play this game with my friends when i was much younger. A family friend had a daughter a few years younger than me who’s deaf and I used to wonder what life for her was like. However, my version was based on “see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil.” When wondering which of the three I’d sacrifice, I tried to simplify it to just one item I would miss in each case. The two things i thought about the most were the sound of rain (in your case music, and more recently for me, music too) and colours. I love to talk and argue and just make noise in general but even as a kid, i knew a fool would pick being mute over being deaf or blind. Afterall, there’s always sign language, i would tell myself.

    And so I’m offering you my easy way out 🙂

  2. tishon says:

    I think ‘d pick being mute over all of them. Sometimes I even get tired of hearing myself talk.

  3. Jimmy says:

    she fucking drives??? wtf!

