Wikipedia: It’s Love

wikilove

Ode To Wikipedia

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
For without you, in this blog, I’d have very little to write.
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee because you refuse to sell ad space.
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as you hold firm in your belief of what is Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with a passion but I’m glad you weren’t around when I was younger cause I’d totally not know a damn thing about proper research. . .

Yeah, it sounded like a good idea in my head. Nevermind the poor excuse for a sonnet. AdAge has a nice little interview with Jimmy Wales, the founder of Wikipedia, in which he discusses why Wikipedia refuses to put ads on their site. I bought this very computer with dirty money(money I made designing banner ads), but that doesn’t mean I have to like them. Or does it?

Link: Wikipedia: Massive Audience But Beggars Profit

Comments are closed.

