The Serial Box Collector and General Mills New Old Boxes


This blog does not endorse Ice Cream Cones Cereal. That shit was gross!

My mother always said, “You are the company you keep.” Actually, that’s a lie. My mother never said that. Most likely she said something along the lines of, “I don’t like that boy, and why does he wear his pants below his butt?” However, She always stressed the importance of keeping good company and it is with that in mind that I have cultivated, over the years, an entourage of mildly strange but supremely entertaining people.

I’d like to introduce you to Michael Donahoe. Some of you may already know him as the funny guy who used to write for Electric Gaming Monthly (EGM), but I know him as Mike(no profundity in that one). Mike was my freshman year suitemate in college and he introduced me to a whole host of things: The Promise Ring, the masculine side of Hello Kitty, Mates of State, and even Myspace. Yes, we all have that one friend who urged us to join Myspace back when it first came out. Mike was that guy for me. I’m not sure if I love him or hate him for that.

Well, the summer he introduced me to myspace was the summer Mike and I found we had something in common, something that has taken our friendship beyond the realm of college suitemates and into the land of lifelong partners for the greater good of mankind. Mike and I both love cereal. I particularly enjoy the taste of cereal. Mike, being who he is, likes cereal for the boxes. He collects them! Actually, I don’t know if he likes the taste of cereal. I guess he would. I mean, it would be dumb if he bought all that cereal and just threw out the cereal and kept the boxes. Anyways, back in the early days of blogging, he and I had an idea to start a blog and a zine devoted to cereal. Sadly, it never came to fruition but perhaps one day, Mike, one day we will get to our Prize Inside.

Well, just the other day, the mighty Steven Heller wrote Package of Champions, a post about a Wheaties Willis Reed box he recently stumbled upon. The post got me thinking about Donahoe and his boxes. It had been a couple years since I’d last seen him and I wondered if he still collected. Well, thanks to Facebook’s 25 Random Things, I’ve learned that he still does. In fact, just yesterday he sent me(I stole it off his Twitter page) a pic of some of his latest acquisitions.

It seems General Mills is celebrating its history by releasing these fantastic throwback boxes. That would explain Steven Heller’s Willis Wheaties. My favorite of the bunch, so far, is the Trix box. Despite my seething hatred for that rabbit(not because he constantly fails at stealing things from children but, like a bushy-tailed Sisyphus, he is a constant reminder of the meaninglessness of life), I quite like the way he looked in his younger more oblong-headed days.

Also, rollerskates.

And is it just me, or does the vintage Cocoa Bird look a little bit like Christopher Lloyd?

I’m also digging the General Mills throwback logo. Are grammar schools still teaching kids to write in cursive?

Also, here are the two best cereals money can buy.


The Starsky and Hutch of Breakfast Cereals

Donahoe is a much more entertaining writer than myself. Read his blog here.

3 Responses to The Serial Box Collector and General Mills New Old Boxes

  1. ultimatehoe says:

    This blog entry tastes like Razzle Dazzle Rice Krispies mixed with Crispix — my favorite cereal combination evahhhhh!

    Man, we *really* need create Prize Inside, too. It’s only, oh, 5 or 6 years in the making!

  2. Nina says:

    raisin bran CRUNCH!

    damn right.

  3. tishon says:

    Fact: In order to get a free Raisin Bran Crunch t-shirt, last year, I collected Raisin Bran Crunch Proof-Purchases. Sadly, I didn’t get enough in time to get it.

    Nina- Yes, it is indeed the best cereal out there.

    Mike- Has it really been that long? But yes, we must make it happen!

