Bloomberg Has A (Design) Posse

Long before most of us even knew what an Obama was, NYC Mayor, Mike Bloomberg had the politico-graphic design game on lock down. Back when I used to intern at Graphis, I relished the days when I’d get to peruse the many boxes of entries sent in by designers all over the world. I remember holding in hand a copy of a Vince Frost designed magazine, and nearly fainting with excitement. I was but a lad and suffered the occasional bout of design-induced syncope.

Around the same time, Bloomberg had sent over a couple boxes of things: letterheads, calendars, t-shirts, and the like. I was amazed at how well designed everything was. All the pieces were thoughtfully designed, making use of a simple color palette of orange and white, a unified system of typography, and an overall aesthetic that was business but with a freshness one wouldn’t exactly expect from a politician (though Bloomberg is obviously more than just a politician).

A couple years down the line and Mike is ruffling a few feathers by seeking a third term as mayor, but it’s no big surprise that he’s doing it in style. Head on over to mikebloomberg.com and have a look around. It’s not necessarily a content-heavy site but it damn sure looks good.

I’d love to know who’s responsible for his design work. Top-notch stuffs!

link: mikebloomberg.com

One Response to Bloomberg Has A (Design) Posse

  1. I agree. Nice work on the site.

